Reflection on CLT Symposium

Salma Nassar

I attended a workshop that was talking about (Transforming Learning Environments through Student Partnership), one of its main goals is to have a good relationship between the students and the faculty in a respectable academic atmosphere. It was a really good opportunity for me to attend such presentation because I had the chance to express my opinion freely without being criticized not only with students, but also with Faculty members. Luckily, the table I was sitting on included a combination of students, professors and some faculty members. They were really tolerant and accepting, they offered new ideas and with every rule they said they had a clear explanation for it, and they convinced me with it. In general, this workshop made me less judgmental towards the professors and not biased to any specific side. I Learned that I should not disagree with the professor instead I should either convince him with my point of view or he convince me with his; we should reach to a point where both of us are okay with it. I learned that for every rule, there a reason why it is there, and it is always beneficial for us. 

Generally speaking, this workshop made me feel that my opinion matters, and it is valued by others because it was mainly about actives and in each activity each one of us had to participate. Additionally, it made me feel that no one was left behind and had the chance to speak up to what he/she believes in; it was certainly engaging. It turns out that the stereotype of professors not having time to connect with their students is not true. Furthermore, how they were easygoing and agreeable made me feel more comfortable and confident explaining my perspective. Finally, it made me realize that we need to be open to new ideas and accept negotiation.

By taking what was mentioned above into consideration, I believe that this will affect how I interact with others in my future. I will be less hypercritical and more receiving and listening to others concerns. I believe that in my future when I have a job, I will do a workshop slightly similar to this one, and I will discuss people concerns and how we can have a good, strong relationship between the employees and the mangers. Also, I will not be biased to any side unless I learn and understand what the reason for them is doing it. I recommend that the activities are not only including one group but rather a couple of them. Lastly, I suppose that this workshop needs to be done twice a semester. The first time is to explain how we can a have a good Learning Environments through Student Partnership and the second one would check if what was said was properly applied and if there are any more concerns. 

P.S: The food was really good 😉

One thought on “Reflection on CLT Symposium

Leave a comment